2012 Texas State & District 8 Tournament
District 8 contains States: Arkansas, Kansas, New Mexico, Oklahoma, Texas and their District 8 Manager: Faye Harvell

The Texas Tournament will be held June 15th & 16th (Friday & Saturday)

The Texas State and District 8 Open Tournament will be held June 15th and 16th, beginning registration at 8:00 a.m., a short business meeting at 8:30 am, with play starting at 9:00 am on Friday, and 8:00 a.m. on Saturday.  The tournament will take place at the meeting room of the Super 8 Motel, 910 N. Central Expressway (on Highway 75), McKinney, TX 75069 (map  Phone # 972-548-8880. This is the eight tournament held in McKinney, TX, and held at the same place. We need 10 rooms taken to get the playroom free.

Room Rate $59.00 per night. (Beds are two queen size or King beds). 

Seven rounds will be played, four 2 hour rounds will be played on Friday and three 2 hour rounds played on Saturday. Unless other plans of play are made at the Business Meeting. The entrance fee is $25.00 for Masters and $20.00 for Majors and Minors (Specials fees are given for special groups). 

Two levels of play will be played, unless we have enough for three levels, or same as last year. This is an American Checker Federation Sanctioned Tournament therefore , ACF. Membership Fees are $40.00 yearly. These may be paid at registration. Call Faye Mounger Harvell at 972-548-0049 or e-mail fayemounger@yahoo.com; or Hugh Hawkins at 903-532-5313 or e-mail HAWK-1@verizon.net for more information.

Buttermilk pie maybe the special with all the other food and deserts.

Looking forward to seeing all of you regular players and others from all parts of the Good Old U. S. A.
Faye & Family, Hugh & Judy Hawkins

17 hours - 21 minutes   1,112.52 miles from Greensboro to McKinney, TX (driving time only)
I-40 west toward Arkansas for 800 miles then I-440 west toward Texarkana 10 miles, then merge into I-30 west toward Texarkana 267 miles, then exit 94A toward US-69/Denison/US-380/McKinney - MapQuest

2012 Tournament Dates   |   2012 Texas & D8   |   2011 Texas & D8    |   2010 Texas & D8    |    2009 Texas & D8