1985 Virginia State (Old Dominion) Open

 held at Lexington, Virginia  - Friday, Saturday, and Sunday, September 27-29, 1985

Elbert Lowder of Sanford, NC won the 1985 Virginia State (Old Dominion) Open held in Lexington, Virginia, September 27th through 29th, 1985.  Paul Davis was runner-up, winning the Virginia State Title over Les Balderson on Honor Points.  Fourth through 10th were Tim Laverty, Raleigh Johnson, Gene Lindsay, John Webster, Vic Defenderfer, E. W. McConnell, and Raymond Stinnett.  There were 23 entrants in the one-division tourney and 11 cash prizes totaled  $525.  John Hesson, retiring Secretary, was awarded a plaque honoring his 20 years of service.  Officers elected were: Les Balderson, President; Jack Richardson, Vice President; Paul Davis Secretary; and John Hesson, Secretary Emeritus.  The 1986 Virginia State Tourney is planned for Bedford, Virginia.  [ACF #198, page 3 - December 1985]

Master "Class A"


City, State



1 Elbert Lowder Sanford, NC    Tournament Winner
2 Paul Davis Rose Hill, VA    1985 Virginia State Champion
3 Les Balderson Richmond, VA    
4 Tim Laverty Sanford, NC    
5 Raleigh Johnson Murfreesboro, NC    
6 Gene Lindsay Morristown, TN    
7 John Webster Stoneville, NC    
8 Victor Defenderfer Oak Ridge, TN    
9 E. W. McConnell Kingsport, TN    
10 Raymond Stinnett Buena Vista, VA    
  (truncated 13 players)      

Virginia State (Old Dominion) Tournament Champions