1988 Virginia State (Old Dominion) Open

 held at Best Western Motel in Bedford, Virginia  - Friday, Saturday, and Sunday, September 23-24-25, 1988

Elbert Lowder, Sanford, NC won the 1988 Virginia Open held September 23-25 in Bedford.  Runner-up was Tim Laverty, followed by Les Balderson, Paul Davis, Earl Luffman, John Webster, Quinton East, Raleigh Johnson, and Elmer Donelson.  Les Balderson won the Virginia State Title and Trophy as highest state scorer.  There were 20 players in one division; $515 in prizes went to the 10 top players.  Officers elected for 1989 were Les Balderson, President; Earl Luffman, Vice President; and Paul Davis Secretary.  The 1989 tourney will be played in Danville. [December 1988, ACFB #216, page 2]

Master Division - "Class A"


City, State



1 Elbert Lowder Sanford, NC    Tournament Winner
2 Tim Laverty Sanford, NC    
3 Les Balderson Richmond, VA    1988 Virginia State Champion
4 Paul Davis Rose Hill, VA    
5 Earl Luffman Ringgold, VA    
6 John Webster Stoneville, NC    
7 Quinton East Oak Ridge, TN    
8 Raleigh Johnson Murfreesboro, NC    
9 Elmer Donelson Coeburn, VA    
  (truncated 11 players)      

Virginia State (Old Dominion) Tournament Champions