North Carolina State Tournament Champions
North Carolina Open

2019   Archdale    
2018 Ryan Pronk, Chesapeake, VA*
Dr. John R. Webster (Eleventh)
Archdale Glenn Fuquay  -- 
2017 Dr. John R. Webster Burlington Grover Minor  -- 
2016 Alexander Moiseyev, Dublin, OH*
Dr. John R. Webster
Burlington Glenn Fuquay
Mike Choate, Madisonville, TN*
2015 Tim Laverty (Eleventh) Burlington Bobby Gerringer --
2014 Dr. John R. Webster Burlington Raleigh Johnson --
2013 Dr. John R. Webster Greensboro Bobby Gerringer --
2012 John R. Webster & Teal Stanley, tie Greensboro Bill McClintock --
2011 Dr. John R. Webster  Greensboro Jeff Webster Trey Stanley
2010 Alexander Moiseyev, Dublin, OH*
Tim Laverty
Siler City Joe McClellan
2009 Dr. John R. Webster  Oxford Cecil Lowe - Bill Salot, VA*  
2008 Dr. John R. Webster  Albemarle J. R. Smith
2007 Dr. John R. Webster Sanford Teal Stanley
2006 Dr. John R. Webster Greensboro Teal Stanley
2005 Alexander Moiseyev, Dublin, OH*
Elbert Lowder
Greensboro Bill McClintock
2004 Elbert Lowder Kinston Paul Dingler
2003 Tim Laverty Ahoskie Cecil Lowe & Larry Michael
2002 Tim Laverty Lexington Cecil Lowe
2001 Alexander Moiseyev, Dublin, OH*
Elbert Lowder
Lexington Raleigh Johnson
2000 Alexander Moiseyev, Dublin, OH*
Elbert Lowder


Merle Vaughan
1999 Tim Laverty Cary James Heffner
1998 Tim Laverty   Raleigh Henry Headinger
1997 Elbert Lowder Sanford Raleigh Johnson
1996 Elbert Lowder & Tim Laverty Raleigh Bill McClintock
1995 Elbert Lowder Greensboro Waldo Barton
1994 Elbert Lowder Ahoskie J. C. Little
1993 Tim Laverty Sanford Waldo Barton
1992 Elbert Lowder Sanford Joe McClellan & Raleigh Johnson
1991 Tim Laverty Newton Merle Vaughan
1990 Tim Laverty Siler City Fred Church
1989 Elbert Lowder Greensboro B. T. Jones
1988 Elbert Lowder Sanford Cecil Lowe
1987 Elbert Lowder Raleigh Ben Jones & B.T. Jones
1986 Elbert Lowder Sanford Merle Vaughan
1985 Elbert Lowder Chapel Hill James Heffner & J. C. Little
1984 Elbert Lowder Ahoskie James Sipe
1983 Elbert Lowder Rutherfordton B. W. "Belton" Jones
1982 Elbert Lowder Ahoskie Merle Vaughan
1981 Tim Laverty Durham Doyle Pearson
1980 Elbert Lowder Rocky Mount R. G. Whitley
1979 Elbert Lowder Ahoskie B. W. "Belton" Jones
1978 A. M. "Angus" Simpson Statesville
1977 Elbert Lowder Greensboro B.T. Jones - Harvey Kelley, GA*  
1976 Elbert Lowder Selma
1975 Elbert Lowder Sanford 
1974 R. T. Jones, Cleveland, GA*
A. M. "Angus" Simpson
1973 Elbert Lowder Kannapolis
1972 Elbert Lowder Greensboro
1971 Elbert Lowder Forest City
1970 Elbert Lowder Asheville
1969 Elbert Lowder Charlotte
1968 Elbert Lowder Durham
1967 Elbert Lowder Sanford 
1966 Elbert Lowder Burlington
1965 Edward Scheidt (Thirteenth) Burlington
1964 Edward Scheidt Thomasville
1963 Elbert Lowder Henderson
1962 J. R. "Jim" Lanier Greensboro
1961 Edward Scheidt Fayetteville
1960 Edward Scheidt Draper
1959 Elbert Lowder Asheville
1958 Elbert Lowder Hickory 
1957 Glenn Cole Winston-Salem
1956 Edward Scheidt Albemarle
1955 Edward Scheidt Thomasville
1954 Edward Scheidt Salisbury
1953 J. R. "Jim" Lanier Mount Airy
1952 Elbert Lowder Winston-Salem
1951 Harry S. Anderson (Ninth) Albemarle
1950 John Paul Lewis Goldsboro
1949 R. W. Garris Asheville
1948 Harry S. Anderson Wilmington
1947 R.W. Garris & W.M. Eubank  Winston-Salem
1946 Edward Scheidt Burlington
1945-1943 No Tournaments - WWII
1942 Harry S. Anderson Draper
1941 Harry S. Anderson Asheboro
1940 R. W. Garris Salisbury
1939 Harry S. Anderson High Point
1938 B. C. McIntyre Lumberton
1937 Frank Newsom Winston-Salem
1936 Harry S. Anderson Raleigh  
1935 Harry S. Anderson Maxton   
1934 B. C. McIntyre Durham  
1933 Jesse N. Lybarger Albemarle  
1932 B. C. McIntyre Greensboro  
1931 Edward Scheidt Winston-Salem  
1930 Edward Scheidt Laurinburg  
1929 Edward Scheidt Burlington  
1928 Edward Scheidt Durham   
1927 George C. Anderson Charlotte  
1926 Harry S. Anderson Charlotte  
1925 Edward Scheidt Charlotte  
1924 Harry S. Anderson Lowell  
1923 Coit M. Robinson Charlotte  
1922 H. C. McNair (Twenty-Ninth) Charlotte 2nd State Ty that year in November
1922 Coit M. Robinson Maxton 1st State Ty that year in July
1921 H. C. McNair Charlotte 2nd State Ty that year in November
1921 George C. Anderson Charlotte 1st State Ty that year in July
1920 Coit M. Robinson Charlotte  
1919 S. M. Hill Charlotte  
1918 Coit M. Robinson Lowell North Carolina Checker Association established in 1918
1897-1917 H. C. McNair Raleigh  
1896-98 John Murdock Asheville Note
1895 H. C. McNair Asheville  
1894 John Murdock Asheville  
1890-1893 H. C. McNair Raleigh  
  • The Majors Champion is the winner of the Majors Division, or selected from the middle of the contestant field in a single class tournament.

  • When the mid place finishers is a non-resident then the next place NC finisher above him is selected. Only NC residences may be a NC Championship title holder.  Rules

  • * Only a NC resident may be a NC Champion

Back to - NC Open

Women & Youth State Champion